The National Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds (ARVC) presented a number of Awards of Excellence as its InSites Convention & Expo Nov. 6-9 in Phoenix, Ariz.
Major park award recipients were: Small Park of the Year, Rutledge Lake RV Park, Fletcher, N.C., Mike and Sandy Tinsley; Medium Park of the Year, Shelby/Mansfield KOA, Shelby, Ohio, Garry and Vicki Cole; Large Park of the Year, Pismo Coast Village RV Resort, Pismo Beach, Calif., Jay Jamison, general manager; and Mega Park of the Year, Sun-N-Fun RV Resort, Sarasota, Fla., Tim Deputy, general manager.
The awards are sponsored by Trailer Life Directories and honor parks that excel in exceptional outdoor hospitality.
Stan Martin Award Recipient
The Gurevich family, Cherry Hill Park, College Park, Md., was honored with the Stan Martin Award.
Linda Profaizer, ARVC president and CEO, noted in presenting the Martin award, “The Gurevich family’s involvement in the camping industry is exemplary. They truly are leaders and we are quite proud of the work they do for the industry and their community.”
The award is presented annually to an individual or company that exemplifies the spirit of volunteerism, partnership and industry unity embodied by Stan Martin. The award recognizes the individual’s unselfish service to the RV park and campground industry. It is in memory of the longtime California campground owner and industry visionary who died in 1992.
Other award winners were:

  • Small State Association Directory of the Year: Oregon RV Park and Campground Association
  • Medium State Association Directory of the Year: Missouri Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds
  • Large State Association Directory of the Year: Maine Campground Owners Association
  • Largest Percentage Increase in Membership: Louisiana Campground Owners Association
  • Greatest Numeric Increase in Membership: California Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds (formerly California Travel Parks Association)
  • State Association Executives of the Year: Lori Severson, Wisconsin Association of Campground Owners
  • Supplier of the Year: Utility Supply Group, Issaquah, Wash.
  • Brochure of the Year: Lakewood Camping Resort, Myrtle Beach, S.C.
  • Direct Mail Promotion of the Year: Cypress Woods RV Resort, Ft. Myers, Fla.
  • Website of the Year: RV Ranch of South Ft. Worth, Burleson, Texas
    ARVC also recognized CAVCO Industries Inc. for its support and donation to the ARVC Foundation. CAVCO, a Phoenix, Ariz.-based leader in manufactured housing including park model homes, cabins and lofts, contributed $22,500 through the donation of a park model home to the ARVC Foundation’s Live Auction at InSites 2007.
    CAVCO, a long-time supporter of the association and the outdoor hospitality industry, also participated in the Outdoor Hospitality Expo by showcasing four of its latest park model homes/cabins.
    “We couldn’t have done it without them, their continued support over the years of ARVC and the ARVC Foundation is greatly appreciated. They are committed to this industry and their generous donation expresses this sincerity,” said Profaizer.