Editor’s Note: Lucas Hartford, president of Evergreen Insurance, provided this account of this week’s meeting of the Campground Association Management Professionals (CAMP) at Cherry Hill Park, College Park, Md.

Campground Association Management Professionals (CAMP) met in Maryland at the beautiful conference center located at Cherry Hill Park on April 26 and 27. Over 30 members attended the two days of education and meetings to find ways to improve campground and RV Park associations and help their members.

The members of CAMP had a full day of work on Sunday, April 26, as they attended a first time ever event called CAMP-College. CAMP-College was put on by Evergreen USA which is celebrating 35 years of insuring campgrounds and RV parks and wanted to help the camping industry with a special educational day for its leaders.

During the morning of CAMP-College Evergreen provided the members the opportunity to learn from Bob Harris, who is a professional speaker on associations. Bob spoke to the group about best practices in the management and operation of associations. In the afternoon the members listened to Josh Hallett of Hyku about ways to use social media. Attendees learned how to better position and market their associations with tools such as LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter and other popular types of social media.

After a wonderful dinner put on by Cherry Hill Park, many of the members continued their Sunday networking by using the different types of social media to get their associations on-line with these tools that evening.

On Monday, April 27, members of CAMP had their annual business meeting. Members gave reports on current issues with their associations, discussed their websites and networked on ways to better help their members.

Many of the CAMP members remained in the Washington, D.C., area after the meeting for the National Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds (ARVC) National Issues Conference, which lasts until today (April 29).

Lucas Hartford, president of Evergreen, said, “We were pleased to be able to put on CAMP-College for the state, regional and national associations that attended CAMP. This group of industry leaders is working very hard every day to improve the camping industry and to watch them work very hard at CAMP-College to better their associations was a wonderful thing to see. These leaders are helping our industry in many ways and I think CAMP-College gave them some additional tools to take back to their board members and associations.”

Hartford identified the following industry leaders who attended the CAMP-College meeting in the photo below:

In the back row, from left, are Daniel Gurley, ARVC, Donald Bennett, Campground Owners of New York (CONY), Michael Moore, Texas Association of Campground Owners (TACO), Janice Atwood (Cherry Hill Park), David Tetrault, Northeast Campground Association (NCA), Linda Alcorn, Missouri Associaiton of RV Parks and Campgrounds (MOARVC), Debbie Carter, Maryland Association of Campgrounds (MAC), Charlene Barbour (Carolinas Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds (CARVC), Debbie Sipe, California Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds (CalARVC), Ruth Jaxzewski, Wisconsin Association of Campground Owners (WACO), Debbie Smith, Pennsylvania Campground Owners Association (PCOA), Cyndy Zbierski (NCA), Karen Radomski (WACO), Wayne Purchase (ARVC-Michigan), Jimmy Corsentino (AANR & GARVC), Jack Carroll, Massachusetts Association of Campground Owners (MACO), Paula Carroll (MACO), Tom Garland, Colorado Campground and Lodging Owners Association (CCLOA), Marji Otto, New Jersey Campground Owners Association (NJCOA), Linda Profaizer (ARVC) and Jay Otto (NJCOA).

In the front row, from left, are David Gorin, Virginia Campground Association (VCA), Norm Gurevich (Cherry Hill Park), Gregg Pittman, New Hampshire Campground Association (NeHaCa), Peter Daniels, Vermont Campground Association (VCA), Mark Anderson (ARVC), Rick Abare, Maine Campground Owners Association (MECOA) and Kathy Frederick (CCLOA).

Present for the meeting but not in the photo were Hartford, Audrey Machowski (Evergreen) and Mike Gurevich (Cherry Hill Park).