The Maryland Park Service (MPS) has reopened all but 11 of Maryland’s 66 state parks after extensive cleanup and repairs in the wake of Hurricane Sandy.

Seven of the reopened parks are open with limited services, some without electric power, while the remaining parks are open and fully operational. The 11 closed parks will remain closed as crews continue to clean up and repair infrastructure.

The following parks will remain closed until further notice:

  • Herrington Manor (Garrett County)
  • Swallow Falls (Garrett County)
  • New Germany (Garrett County)
  • Deep Creek Lake (Garrett County)
  • Dans Mountain (Allegany County)
  • Cunningham Falls (Frederick County)
  • Assateague (Worcester County)
  • Janes Island (Somerset County)
  • Pocomoke (Worcester County)
  • Martinak (Caroline County)
  • Wye Island (Queen Anne’s County)

“Thanks to the collaborative efforts of DNR’s Park Service, Forest Service and Engineering and Construction Unit, the majority of Maryland’s State Parks have been restored to a safe condition for our visitors,” said MPS Superintendent Nita Settina. “These employees have worked non-stop to ensure that our state parks are open and available to the public, and they will continue to do so until all parks are open.”