Nearly 100 members representing 40 RV parks and campgrounds attended the annual meeting of the Florida/Alabama Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds May 2-4 at the Royal Plaza Hotel in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Chairman John Parkhurst, Holiday Travel Resort, Leesburg, updated members on the state of their association whose membership is at a record 396. The vast majority of membership, 371, hails from the Sunshine State.

Barbara Tillman, the association’s legislative consultant, updated members on the latest developments in the state legislature regarding property tax reform. A revenue shortfall of $956 million is projected over the next 16 months. Florida ARVC supports efforts to provide property tax relief and measures that prohibit counties from making up the lost revenue through increased non-advalorem assessments.

A special session of the state legislature is being held in June to address the budget crisis.

Max Gibbs, chairman of the National Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds (ARVC), updated the members on national issues.

Among the Certified Park Operator (CPO) seminars were sessions on dealing with difficult people, identity theft, workplace safety and credit card financing.

The association recognized Chuck Freed, who is leaving the board after more than 12 years of service, and Jan Carey, who received a scholarship to attend ARVC’s annual Oglebay school. During a crackerbarrel session, in turn, members discussed the inconvenience to Sun Belt state park and campground operators in attending the Oglebay classes, held annually in February West Virginia. The association will recommend to ARVC that some classes be held in the summer as well.

Thirty vendors displayed products and services at the annual trade show.

During the annual business meeting, the following directors were elected: Central At-Large: Rob Smith, Harbor RV Resort, Lake Wales; Southwest: Lynda Phelps, Upriver Campground, N. Fort Myers; and Central East: Jan Carey, Jetty Park, Titusville. The Southeast at-large position was vacant at time of publication. Previously elected to serve for 2006-2007 were Chairman Parkhurst; Vice-Chair Nita Shirley, Whisper Creek RV Resort, LaBelle; Treasurer Bob Little, Flamingo Lake RV Resort, Jacksonville, and Secretary Phelps. –Steve Bibler