Yogi logoLeisure Systems Inc. (LSI) presented its annual awards to exemplary Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park Camp-Resort franchisees throughout the U.S. and Canada.

The awards were issued Nov. 13 on the final day of LSI’s annual symposium in Covington, Ky. in the following categories:

Camp-Resort of the Year: This is LSI’s highest honor. It is given to the camp-resort whose facilities and operators exceed all Jellystone Park standards. Recipients must be Pinnacle Club members, meaning they rate 95% or higher on the annual LSI inspection of their facilities and operations. Award recipients also must have achieved strong growth in business, implemented sustained improvements, and be seen as a leader in the industry:

  • Caledonia, Wis.

Entrepreneur of the Year: This award is presented to camp-resorts with strong year over year growth in business. This year’s recipients, based on revenue category, include Jellystone Park franchises in:

  • Canyon Lake, Texas
  • Madison, Fla.
  • Milford, Del.

Operator of the Year: This award is given to an individual or individuals directly responsible for day-to-day operations of the camp-resort. It represents excellence in management, improved ratings and growth in business:

  • Rick and Shelly Spear, Estes Park, Colo., in the category for parks under 200 sites
  • Jackie MaGuire, North Java, N.Y., in the category for parks over 200 sites

Franchise Inspection Leader: Given to the camp-resort that achieved the highest inspection rating of all Jellystone Parks.

  • Caledonia, Wis.

Maple Leaf Award: This award is presented to a Canadian franchisee for their commitment and dedication to the Jellystone Park system:

  • Kingston, Nova Scotia

Facility of the Year: This award is presented to parks that have shown sustained improvements to their facilities:

  • Harrisville, Pa., in the category for parks with less than 200 sites
  • Woodridge, N.Y., in the category for parks with more than 200 sites

Dan O’Connell Service Award: This award recognizes an individual’s strong support and work to improve and grow the campground industry:

  • Jim Leaming, Sturbridge, Mass.

Special Recognition Awards: These awards are presented to Camp- Resorts and operators who achieve high ratings on specific categories of park operations or marketing initiatives:

  • Rookie of the Year – Owner: Kyle and Susan Novotny, South Haven, Mich. and Rich and Nancy Felber, Mt. Gilead, Ohio
  • Rookie of the Year – Manager: Enoch and Emma Hartung, Luray, Va. and Tom
    Wilson, Madison, Fla.
  • Most Improved Inspection: Madison, Fla.
  • Facility Theming: South Haven, Mich.
  • Landscaping: Cherokee, N.C.
  • Camp Resort Store: South Haven, Mich. and Woodstock, New Brunswick
  • Camp Resort Comfort Station: Fredericksburg, Texas
  • Website: Marion, N.C.
  • Brochure Design: South Haven, Mich.