Hippo Activity

Sleepy Hollow Family Campground held a Hungry Hippo water activity.

The New Jersey Campground Owners & Outdoor Lodging Association (NJCOA), presented awards during its annual Fall Tour and General Membership Meeting, according to Joann DelVescio, executive director of the association.

NJCOA granted awards to members in a variety of categories including Best Website, Best Event, Most Creative Activity and Best Camping Photo.

DelVescio commented that NJCOA wants to recognize campgrounds that work hard to develop a cohesive and up-to-date marketing campaign, and who think outside of the box to provide fun events and activities for their campers.

“We took nominations during July and August to give campgrounds time to submit for the September meeting,” she noted.

DelVescio stated that the NJCOA committee sorted through the entries and chose the winners.

The winners are as follows:

  • Best Website – Wading Pines Camping Resort –Shore Region. The updated website is visually pleasing and easy to maneuver. The photos and content are up to date.
  • Best Event – Benji’s Birthday Party – Kymer’s Camping Resort – Skyland Region. Benji is Kymer’s mascot. They celebrated his birthday with a variety of fun activities and birthday cake.
  • Most Creative Activity – Hungry Hippos on the Lake – Sleepy Hollow Family Campground – Greater Atlantic City Region. A camper was on an inflatable hippo with a camper pushing them to gather the most balls.
  • Best Camping Photo – Little Oaks Campground – Southern Shore Region. As owner Judy LaPorta was closing the pool on Labor Day, a day her campers always groan about, LaPorta was waiting to hear the gripes when she noticed they were all looking to the sky and pointing. She looked up and saw a banner saying, “We love Little Oaks + Miss Judy.” LaPorta said at that moment she realized this is what it is about, making people feel at home and being a part of their best memories.

An election of officers and board members was also held during the Fall Tour. Reelected for another term are Anita Pfefferkorn, Indian Rock RV Resort, president; Justin Crane, Hospitality Creek Campground, vice president; Clayton Taylor, Camp Taylor Campground, treasurer; and Lisa Torella, The Great Divide Campground, secretary.

The following board members were also re-elected Matt Benn, Sea Pirate Campground; Karen Kymer, Kymer’s Camping Resort; and Randy Prisckett, Sleepy Hollow Campground.

They join board members Scott Turner, Ocean View Camping Resort; Jace Kandle, Lake Kandle Campground; Judy LaPorta, Little Oaks Campground; and Dave Benn, from Pomona RV Resort.

For more information, contact Joann DelVescio at 609-545-0145 or email njcoa@campnj.com.