The Ontario Private Campground Association recently unveiled its new brand identity, Camping in Ontario.
For years, the association’s annual camping directory and website were both titled Camping in Ontario. Building on that strength, the association will now operate under this banner as well.
“Campers know us as Camping in Ontario,” Beth Potter, executive director, explained in a news release. “It is a strong brand that tells people we have what they are looking for, camping opportunities in Ontario.”
In addition, the association updated its logo while retaining the recognizable elements of the existing logo. They also added the tagline “Create memories…go camping” into their visual identity.
Camping in Ontario has been representing privately owned and operated campgrounds for 38 years. “Ontario has hundreds of great independently owned campgrounds for seasonal and overnight campers,” said Karen Challinor, president of Camping In Ontario. “We market the availability of these destinations to campers from around the world, and it just makes sense to do that as Camping in Ontario.”
The association will keep their legal name, Ontario Private Campground Association, but will market and advocate on behalf of the industry under their new brand.
Meanwhile, Camping In Ontario elected its new board for 2007/08 at the Annual General Meeting held in Ottawa, Ontario, Oct. 26 in conjunction with the National RV & Camping Convention.
Officers are: President Karen Challinor, Red Eagle Trailer Park, Coe Hill (area 5A); First Vice President Robert Trask, Chesley Lake Camp, Allenford (area 3A); Second Vice President Connie Forrester, Log Cabin Point, Cherry Valley (area 5B); Secretary/Treasurer Bruce Dressel, Jordan Valley Campground, Jordan (director at large); and Immediate Past President: Mark Lowell, Log Chateau Park, Fenelon Falls (area 5A).
Directors by area are: Jim Boere, Paul Bunyan Campground, Bayfield (area 1); John Moelker, Pine Valley Park, Branchton (area 2); Don Steele, Wasaga Dunes, Wasaga Beach (area 3B); Stephane Deschenes, Bare Oaks Family Naturist Resort, Newmarket (area 4); Lisa Veritis, Cedar Trees Resort, Napanee (area 6); Walter Geisser, Bayview Lodge, White Lake (area 6); Anthony Rizzo, Doe Lake Campground Rizzort, Katrine (areas 7 & 10); Deb Hargrave, Horseshoe Lake Camp & Cottages, Parry Sound (areas 8 & 9); Tammy Gillespie, Neys Lunch & Campground, Marathon (areas 11 & 12); and Jacques Tremblay, Big Water Campground, Timmins (director at large).